Representatives Cohen, Fitzpatrick, Schakowsky and Buchanan present the PAST law

WASHINGTON – Representatives Steve Cohen (TN-09), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09) and Vern Buchanan (FL-16) today introduced the Prevent All Soring Tactics (PAST) law for prohibit injury to the hooves and legs of performing walking horses such as the iconic Tennessee walking horses.

The measure was co-sponsored by 209 other members of the House, indicating its strong level of bipartisan support.

Congressman Cohen, a longtime member of the Congressional Animal Protection Caucus, issued the following statement:

“The practice of wounding, which involves intentionally inflicting pain on the feet and legs of horses using caustic chemicals, chains, weighted shoes, hard objects, cuts and other techniques. horrible to force them to take an artificially high step based on pain. move known as the “Big Lick” is totally unacceptable, inhumane and unsportsmanlike. Sadly, the practice has plagued the Tennessee Walking Horse and related breeds for more than six decades. I am proud to reintroduce the PAST law to finally eradicate this indefensible practice and show that Americans will treat animals humanely. ”

Congressman Fitzpatrick said:

“The archaic and inhuman practice of wounding intentionally inflicts pain on show horses for the sole purpose of winning a ribbon in a competition. Our bipartisan PAST law gives a voice to these suffering animals and will finally end this cruel practice by banning devices that are integral to injury, strengthening penalties and holding abusers accountable for their crimes against innocent horses. ”

MP Schakowsky said:

“The horrible practice of the horse sore must stop. I am proud to stand with so many constituents, animal welfare groups and a bipartisan group of my colleagues on Capitol Hill to demand that this suffices, and to ensure that we close the book on this treatment. inhuman once and for all. “

Congressman Buchanan said:

“The practice of the horse ‘wound’ is nothing less than animal torture. As co-chair of the Animal Care Caucus, I am happy to support this bill to end this inhumane practice. Anyone who abuses horses in this way should be held responsible. “

The American Horse Council, American Veterinary Medical Association, American Association of Equine Practitioners, Humane Society Legislative Fund, Humane Society of the United States, American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA), Animal Welfare Institute, Friends of Sound Horses, and Animal Wellness Action all strongly support this bill. They are joined by a wide range of hundreds of stakeholder groups and individuals who also endorse the PAST law.

The full list of House Cosponsors includes: Representatives Kurt Schrader, A. Donald McEachin, Abigail Spanberger, Adam Kinzinger, Adam Smith, Adriano Espaillat, Al Green, Al Lawson, Alan Lowenthal, Albio Sires, Alma S. Adams, Ann Kirkpatrick, Ann McLane Kuster, André Carson, Andy Kim, Andy Levin, Angie Craig, Anna Eshoo, Anthony G. Brown, Antonio Delgado, Barbara Lee, Betty McCollum, Bill Foster, Bill Johnson, Bill Pascrell, Jr., Bill posey, Bobby L. Rush, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Brad Sherman, Bradley S. Schneider, Brendan F. Boyle, Brian Higgins, CA Dutch Ruppersberger, Carlos gimenez, Carolyn B. Maloney, Chellie Pingree, Cheri Bustos, Chris Pappas, Chrissy Houlahan, Claudia Tenney, Colin Allred, Conor Lamb, Cynthia Axne, Dan Kildee, Dan Meuser, Danny K. Davis, Darren Soto, David N. Cicillin, David Joyce, David B. McKinley, PE., David Price, David Schweikert, David Scott, David Trone, Debbie Dingell, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Deborah Ross, Derek Kilmer, Diana DeGette, Dina Titus, Don Bacon, Don Beyer, Donald Norcross, Donald M. Payne, Jr., Doris Matsui, Dwight Evans, Earl Blumenauer, Ed Case, Ed Perlmutter, Elaine G. Luria, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Elissa Slotkin, Emanuel Cleaver, Eric Swalwell, Fred keller, Fred upton, GK Butterfield, Gerald E. Connolly, Grace F. Napolitano, Grace Meng, Greg Stanton, Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, Gregory W. Meeks, Guy Reschenthaler, Gwen Moore, Haley Stevens, Hank Johnson, Jackie Speier, Jackie Walorski, Jahana Hayes, Jaime Herrera Beutler, James A. Himes, James R. Langevin, James P. McGovern, Jamie Raskin, Jared Huffman, Jason Crow, Jeff Fortenberry, Jeff Van Drew, Jennifer Wexton, Jerrold Nadler, Jerry McNerney, Jesus G. “Chuy” Garcia, Jimmy Panetta, Joaquin Castro, Joe Courtney, Joe Neguse, John Garamendi, John katko, John B. Larson, John P. Sarbanes, John Yarmuth, Joseph D. Morelle, Josh Gotheimer, Josh Harder, Joyce Beatty, Juan Vargas, Judy Chu, Julia Brownley, Karen Bass, Katherine Clark, Kathleen M. Rice, Kathy Castor , Katie Porter, Kay granger, Ken buck, Ken calvert, Kurt Schrader, Lauren Underwood, Linda T. Sánchez, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Lizzie Fletcher, Lois Frankel, Lori Trahan, Lou Correa, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Lucy McBath, Madeleine Dean, Marc Veasey, Marcy Kaptur, Maria Elvira Salazar, Marie Newman, Marilyn Strickland, Marc Amodei, Mark DeSaulnier, Mark Pocan, Mark Takano, Mary Gay Scanlon, Matt Cartwright, Michael Waltz, Mike Doyle, Mike Kelly, Mike Quigley, Mike Thompson, Mikie Sherrill, Mondaire Jones, Nanette Diaz Barragán, Nicole malliotakis, Norma J. Torres, Nydia M. Velazquez, Patrick mchenry, Paul D. Tonko, Pete Aguilar, Peter A. DeFazio, Peter Welch, Pramila Jayapal, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Rashida Tlaib, Raúl M. Grijalva, Raul Ruiz, Rick Larsen, Richard hudson, Richard E. Neal, Ro Khanna, Robert C. “Bobby” Scott, Robin L. Kelly, Roger williams, Ron Kind, Rosa L. DeLauro, Ruben Gallego, Salud Carbajal, Sara Jacobs, Sean Casten, Scott H. Peters, Sean Patrick Maloney, Seth Moulton, Sharice L. Davids, Sheila Jackson Lee, Stephanie Murphy, Stephen F. Lynch, Steven Horsford, Susan Wild, Suzan K. DelBene, Suzanne Bonamici, Ted Deutch, Ted W. Lieu, Tedd Budd, Tim Ryan, Tom Malinowski, Tom O’Halleran, Tom reed, Tony Cárdenas, Troy A. Carter, Sr., Val Demings, Veronica Escobar, William R. Keating, Yvette D. Clarke and Zoe Lofgren.


Comments are closed.