Equator Prize award ceremony to honor ten outstanding indigenous peoples and local communities from around the world

New York, September 27 – This year’s Ecuador Prize award ceremony, entitled “Responses to our global crisis”, will honor ten outstanding indigenous peoples and local communities from around the world. Each winner has demonstrated remarkable work in improving food security, tackling our climate crisis and achieving green economies.

The event highlights nature-based, traditional knowledge-based solutions and practices used by indigenous peoples and local communities that provide practical solutions to the global environmental crisis.

The award ceremony will take place on October 4, at the Nature for Life Hub virtual event designed to increase ambition for nature-based solutions in global biodiversity, climate and development policies.

The high-profile virtual ceremony will feature awards shows, videos of winning initiatives, community statements and government engagements, as well as musical and cultural performances.

The countries featured in this year’s ceremony are Brazil, Bolivia, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Ecuador, India, Kyrgyzstan, Niger and Mexico.

For a full list of winning communities, visit: https://www.equatorinitiative.org/2021/07/12/meet-the-winners-of-the-equator-prize-2021-2/

What: Equator Prize 2021 ceremony

When: Monday, October 4, 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. EDT

Where: Streamed live on the Nature for Life virtual hub at https://www.NatureForLifeHub.org and https://www.learningfornature.org/en/the-nature-for-life-hub-2021-day-1 – transform-our-relationship-with-the-planet /


  • Portugal. The Man, Grammy Award-winning group
  • Dia Mirza, actress, producer, United Nations Goodwill Ambassador for the Environment and United Nations Secretary-General’s Advocate for the Sustainable Development Goals, Global Ambassador, International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW)
  • Achim Steiner, Administrator, United Nations Development Program
  • Paloma Costa, climate activist and member of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Youth Advisory Group on Climate Change
  • Edgar Villanueva, Director, Decolonizing Wealth Project & Liberated Capital
  • Djuena Tikuna and DJ Eric Marky Terena, Indigenous artists and journalists
  • Bård Vegar Solhjell, Director General, Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation;

Celebrity awards from winning countries include:

  • DJ Alok (Brazil), DJ and music producer
  • Christiana Figueres (Costa Rica), co-founder of Global Optimism and former Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
  • Alberto Acosta (Ecuador), President of the Constitutional Assembly of Ecuador, 2007-2008;
  • Teacher. Gita Sen (India), Public Health Foundation of India
  • Rohini Nilekani (India), President, Arghyam Trust
  • Mauricio Kuri (Mexico), González governor of Querétaro, Mexico
  • and many more.

Comments are closed.